New-look Wokingham Borough Council executive unveiled

Charlotte Haitham Taylor

THE NEW leader of Wokingham Borough Council has revealed her new executive.

Last week, Cllr Charlotte Haitham Taylor was named as the new Leader of the council after ousting Cllr Keith Baker in a council vote.

The former executive member for children’s services is set to to reveal her new executive at her first council meeting on Thursday evening, which the council will then vote on.

Cllr Haitham Taylor said: “The new Executive blends experience and fresh thinking, with more recognisable faces taking their places alongside less familiar ones.

“I am looking forward to working with my colleagues on taking this Borough forward through these exciting but challenging times.

“This Executive reflects my priorities and that of the Conservative Group in Wokingham Borough: making our Council self-sufficient, addressing funding and housing issues, and ensuring that our Borough remains a great place to live and to do business.”

The new leader of Wokingham Conservatives said the shake-up to the executive is to ensure the council meets the challenges facing Wokingham.

She said: “This Council has always been efficient and innovative, but we are facing challenging financial times. Our main sources of funding are being reduced by the Government, placing more of the burden on local businesses and our Council Tax-payers. We need Executive Members dedicated to making the Council financially self-sufficient, whilst ensuring that we have resilient public services. At the same time, we need to look at new opportunities to generate creative sources of funding to pay for vital services.”

Your new-look Wokingham Borough Council Executive

Cllr David Lee

Deputy Leader and Executive Member for Strategic Planning and Highways – Cllr David Lee –

Cllr Lee represents Norreys Ward, and was the Leader of the Council until 2014. Has was previously involved with the Council’s Audit Committee and sits on the Board of Wokingham’s Holding Company. He will be responsible for deputising for the Leader, and overseeing strategic plans relating to Highways and Planning

Cllr Stuart Munro

Executive Member for Business and Economic Development and Regeneration – Cllr Stuart Munro –

Cllr Munro represents Swallowfield Ward having been first elected to the council in 2005. He previously served as Deputy Executive Member for Economic Development and Finance as well as sitting on the Board of Wokingham’s Holding Company. Cllr Munro will be responsible for regenerating the Council’s Town Centres and overseeing new ways of bringing outside funding into the Borough.

Cllr Simon Weeks

Executive Member for Planning and Enforcement – Cllr Simon Weeks –

Finchampstead South ward councillor Simon Weeks was first elected to the council in 2004, and has previously held the position of Chairman of the Planning Committee and the Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee. Cllr Weeks will be responsible for day-to- day planning issues, including enforcement and the use of developer contributions.

Cllr Norman Jorgensen

Executive Member for Environment, Sports, Environmental Health, Leisure and Libraries – Cllr Norman Jorgensen –

Cllr Jorgensen replaces his wife, Pauline from a similar role within the Executive. The Hillside councillor holds a PhD in Chemistry and has carried out post-doctoral research at Oxford University. He will be responsible for the Borough’s parks, waste collection and leisure facilities.

Cllr Julian McGhee-Sumner

Executive Member for Adults’ Services, Health, Wellbeing and Housing – Cllr Julian McGhee-Sumner –

Previously Deputy Leader of the Council, Cllr McGhee-Sumner has also held the title of Executive Member for Health and Wellbeing, and has a background in finance. The Wescott ward councillor will be responsible for adult social care and the Council’s housing services.

Cllr Oliver Whittle

Executive Member for Finance, 21st Century Council, Internal Services and Human Resources – Cllr Oliver Whittle –

Cllr Whittle is a relative newcomer to the council, having been first elected in 2016 to represent Wescott ward. His banking career included becoming Chief Executive Raiffeisen Bank Albania, and has been involved in organisations that raise money for local charities. Cllr Whittle will be responsible for the Council’s budget, customer services, and the restructuring of the authority.

Cllr Chris Bowring

Executive Member for Highways and Transport – Cllr Chris Bowring –

Evendons ward councillor Chris Bowring was previously Deputy Executive Member for Planning and Regeneration. He was a consultant in the computer industry for 25 years before becoming a music teacher. He will be responsible for maintaining roads and parking across the Borough.

Cllr Mark Ashwell

Executive Member for Children’s Services – Cllr Mark Ashwell –

Cllr Ashwell was first elected to Council in 2014 as Member for Evendons, and was previously Executive Member for Planning and Regeneration. He is the president of The Sumas football club, and has been a school governor for over 20 years. He will be responsible for the Borough’s schools and childcare services.


  1. Not such a clean sweep as to be expected. Too many of the old executive members been given positions. If Wokingham Conservatives wish to retain the confidence of the voters then we need an ALL new executive, not an executive with members who allowed the last leader of the council to do as he wished!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here