GCSE Results Day: Everything you need to know about the changes in reporting

Reading Blue Coat School GCSE results
Students from Reading Blue Coat School receive their GCSE results last year

GCSE results are a little different to how they have been reported in previous years, with more emphasis being placed on students’ progress throughout their educational career.

Schools will now publish how many pupils achieved a grade C or above in English and maths, the percentage of pupils achieving the English Baccalaureate (EBacc), a Progress 8 score which measures pupil progress across eight different subjects, and an Attainment 8 score which represents that average achievement of that school’s pupils across eight subjects.

The Progress 8 score will be calculated on pupils’ performance in eight qualifications, with each GCSE grade given a score from 8 to 1, where A* is equivalent to 8 and G is one.

The Attainment 8 score per pupil will include:

  • Double-weighted maths score
  • English literature or language score. The score will be doubled if both qualifications are taken
  • The three-highest scores from any English Baccalaureate qualifications
  • The three-highest scores in any other subjects

Pupils who do not complete enough qualifications will receive a zero if the slot is empty. Dividing the score by 10 will give the pupil’s average grade.

The score is measured by subtracting pupils’ Attainment 8 score at GCSE from what they were expected to get based on what they achieved before they left primary school.

Pupils who achieve exactly what they were expected to will receive a score of 0 – which will be interpreted as a ‘good’ score, and also the expected average for mainstream schools. The greater the score, the greater the progress that has been made over the course of that pupils’ secondary education.

If a school achieves a score of 1, therefore, it means all pupils achieved at least one grade higher on average than they were expected to achieve, or one grade higher than their peers nationally on average.

Schools achieving a Progress 8 score of +1 or more will be exempt from Ofsted inspections in the following year.

Related posts

New shadow cabinet role for Reading East MP Matt Rodda

Phil Creighton

COLUMN: Shaping the long-term future of Reading FC starts this summer

Tom Crocker

Still time to help give presents to patients at the RBH

Gemma Davidson
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Support Wokingham.Today.

Wokingham.Today is a Social Enterprise and aims to ensure that everyone within the Borough has free access to independent and up-to-date news. However, providing this service is not without costs. If you are able to, please make a contribution to support our work.

Click here to contribute.

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x